Ice Cream and Sunshine – Running From Dundee to Perth (27 miles)

Bag, food, trainers and shades – GO!

I started my run with no real destination in mind other than I knew I wanted to have a long run to make the most of the nice weather! So, I decided I would run to the Tay bridge and from there decide where to run to… either St Andrews or Perth.

Tay Bridge in Dundee :)
Tay Bridge in Dundee

Erm…erm..erm… PERTH!

Having previously worked in Perth for a couple of years, I had always wanted to “run to work” and now that I finally had the time, I thought I would go for it! Shame I no longer work in Perth…

Garmin Route Map
Garmin Route Map

So, taking off along by the River Tay I followed the foot path out of Dundee, through Invergowrie and beyond, following the cycle route (77). I followed the long flat roads through various small villages and beautiful scenery. This was a great way to see parts of this area I have never been before.

Long Straights
Long Straights
Railway house
Railway house
Carvings
Cheeky wee carvings
Flowers in bloom
Flowers in bloom
Burial Ground
Burial Ground

About midway I decided that a well earned ice cream break was in order!

IceCream Break
IceCream Break
Not long now!
Not long now!
Kinnoull Hill tower!
Kinnoull Hill tower!

I made it! Tapping the Perth road sign was a good feeling.

MADE IT!
MADE IT!
Crossing the bridge into perth!
Crossing the bridge into Perth
View down the Tay
View down the Tay
The end of the line!
The end of the line!

It’s a funny thing to run a marathon on a whim. When you get to the end there are no crowds cheering, no marshals congratulating you and handing you a medal and banana. Just people going about there business and not even looking twice at the random sweaty guy sitting at the base of a statue. It makes you realise that the marathon you just ran wasn’t that big a deal, it was just an enjoyable run on a gorgeous day. The barrier we put up that 26.2 miles is the furthest we can run is hard to break through, but doing this long run helped me realise that I am more than capable of breaking that barrier. I know now that I run further… but the big question is… how much further can I go?

Follow my progress on Instagram – @jordan_love_live_run

Leave a Reply

